League of Legends: The Ranking System Explained

League of Legends
"For the Freljord."

League of Legends' Ranking System

It is no doubt that League of Legends is one of the most popular eSports out there. Since 2009, the multiplayer battle arena game has gained millions of players. One of the popular aspects of the game is the ranking system. Now, while some games might throw you into the battle with whomever, League of Legends makes matchmaking and ranking more sensible. Here, we will break the system down.

Breaking Down the Ranking System

So, let’s get down to the basics. The system is designed to put players with other players that have a similar ranking. The goal is so that you are playing with players that are around the same skill level. As of right now, the ranking system is made up of seven tiers that you play through. The first tier is the Bronze tier. After you go through the Bronze tier, then you play through Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, and Master. The last tier is the Challenger tier. Also, each tier has five divisions. The system only had six tiers up until season three. In season four, the Master tier was added. This tier was added between the Diamond and Challenger tiers.

                                                           The different tiers

League Points and Match Making Rating

Now, we shall talk about League Points and Match Making Rating. League Points are simply points that determine the league you are in. If you want to keep your League Points up though, you have to stay on your game. Not only can you gain League Points, you can also lose them. How? The first example, is if you lose a ranked game. The second example is if you spend too much time away from playing a ranked game. For the Platinum and Diamond players, your points will decay after being away for twenty-eight days. For the Master and Challenger players, ten days. Luckily, the Bronze, Silver, and Gold players are safe from this. The Match Making Rating is a system that gives a player a rating. The rating comes from who the player beats and who beats the player. This is just another way the ranking system helps match players more evenly.

                                     A team victory where your points and level is displayed

Tiers and Divisions

Next, we will go more in depth with the tiers and divisions. The tiers that I mentioned earlier are made up of five divisions. In order, from lowest to the highest, the tiers are Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, and Challenger. The divisions go in the order from five to one, instead of one to five. While playing ranked matches, you get promoted or demoted. First, before you can even start getting promoted, you have to make it to one-hundred League Points. From there, you will get promoted when you win two out of your next three ranked games. You get promoted to the next division. So, if you are in division five, you would go up to division four. When you go up a division, your League Points will also reset to zero. You have to win the Promotion Series or you will remain in your current division. There is more. After you make it to one-hundred League Points in division one, then the Tier Promotion Series starts. Here, you have to win three out of the next five games you play. One more piece of information: do not leave during the game or champion selection. This will count as a loss. So, it is no question that you have to stay on top of it. League of Legends holds a very competitive environment. Also, in order to keep moving up or to keep your current division, having consistent wins is key. It is understandable when you have a bad day, but losing enough games can get you demoted down to the previous division. When you lose enough games, your League Points will go back down to zero. This is where you get demoted. Demotion includes, going back down a division and being set to seventy-five League Points in that division. So, be careful.

                                                           The Six tiers and divisions

The Challenger Tier and Opinions of the Ranking System

In conclusion, League of Legends is a great competitive game, with a nice ranking system. If you work hard enough, you can make it to the Challenger tier, the highest tier as of now. So, what is your opinion on League's ranking system? Do you like it, or do you hate it? Let us know in the comments. Also, feel free to ask questions. Until next time, stay on your game and make your way to the Challenger tier to be considered one of the most skilled League players. Maybe then, you can become a professional League of Legends player.


You may also like:


League of Legends World Championship 2015 Results: Winners, Losers, and Prize Pool


League of Legends


10 League of Legends Champions to Crush Your Foes With

More on this topic:

Top 3 Favorite Games:, ,

More Top Stories