Monster Hunter World: 5 Interesting Facts to Know

action, adventure, rpg, open world
"Pretty sure that dragon we're looking for is pretending to be a mountain."

In Monster Hunter World, you are a Hunter summoned by the Research Council to observe the Elder Dragon Migration to the New World. This task is secondary to your primary task of eliminating the threat of the Elder Dragon, Zorah Magdaros, said to be the size of a mountain. Prepare yourself for the fight against Magdaros or be crushed under his feet.

Released on January 26, 2018 Monster Hunter World was developed and published by Capcom. According to both the senior producer Ryozo Tsujimoto and director Yuya Tokuda, Monster Hunter World is part of the Monster Hunter continuity, taking place after Monster Hunter Generations. Knowing that it is part of the main story is good, but what are some of the more interesting parts?

1. No More Zones

In previous installments of the game different areas were separated into “zones,” necessary for the PS2 and PSP because the systems were not built for large-scale maps. In Monster Hunter World, all areas can be accessed seamlessly allowing for better gameplay.

2. A Living Ecosystem

With an advanced artificial intelligence, the environments of Monster Hunter World come alive. If the creature you are hunting is known for its sense of smell, sneaking around it will not be possible. Take the wrong approach with a monster and end up at the bottom of the lake they inhabit.

3. The Smithy

Have you ever upgraded a weapon and hated the stats you gave it? Did you have to go hunting for new material just to make a new weapon? In addition to forging your own specialized weapons, Monster Hunter World’s smithy allows players to revert certain upgrades.

The armor developed here will also give the players skill bonuses of two types: “equipment skills” and “set bonus skills.” Each of these requires certain conditions to activate. Set bonus skills are activated when a Hunter equips 2 or more pieces of a specific set of armor. Equipment skills are activated when a Hunter equips a special weapon or rare piece of armor with a special trait.

4. Palicoes

Obtaining a companion is always a welcome addition to an adventure game. Players will have the opportunity to acquire something called a Palico at the start of the game, a bipedal cat-like companion.

They possess both offensive and defensive capabilities but can also give healing buffs to the Hunter. Palicoes can also gather resources for the player and communicate with wild cats for help with setting traps for a monster being hunted.

5. Free DLC

Whenever a new game is released, there is always the desire to acquire the DLC content available. Where many games charge as much as $60 for short quest-style DLC, others may charge very little. Capcom has decided to provide ALL DLC for Monster Hunter World to players for free. This is likely thanks to the fact that the game sold over 7 million copies in the first month and a half it was out.

Monster Hunter World is available on PS4 and Xbox One. It will be released later this year for PC in hard copy and on Steam.

More on this topic:

As one of many from the wastelands of California's Central Valley, Juan is a level 30 Ranger with a boost to speed and agility, and always rolls a twenty on creativity.
Gamer Since: 1994
Favorite Genre: RTS
Currently Playing: Valkyria Chronicles
Top 3 Favorite Games:Dragon Age: Origins, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, Deus Ex: Human Revolution

More Top Stories