Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order Best Difficulty - Which To Choose

Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order Best Difficulty
Will Cal succeed in his quest or die by the hands of the Sith?

So, you’ve been watching game trailers, Youtube-how-to’s, and Twitch streamers mashing their controllers as they take the STAR WARS: Jedi Fallen Order challenge. Jedi Fallen Order isn’t like most of the other additions to the STAR WARS universe. Respawn Entertainment, the studio behind the Titanfall series and Apex Legends, constructed a highly complex and challenging combat system. Playing through this combat system is not without its reward and it does require the gamer’s patience to see it all the way to the end. 

As someone with experience in JFO, I can say that the difficulties make a difference in how you approach the challenges that lay before you. Are you ready to take down the Oggdo Boggdo the first time you see it? Will you charge headfirst into a group of Purge Troopers? Are you aggressive? Or are you more passive and strategic? 

I’m sure there are many of you who yearn for the thrill of a challenge. There a few games that come to mind, which force its players to dig deep for the patience and fortitude to hone their skills. Victory may take an eternity, but oh the flavor is glorious to savor. Kalameet anyone? Before I scare anyone off, it’s important to know that, while Dark Souls may not allow you to choose your difficulty setting, Jedi Fallen Order does. That’s got to be music to your ears, right? You may be asking now: What setting should I choose? Basing the decision on one’s playstyle and skill level, JFO has four modes for players to make their choice. Below we’ll talk about each difficulty mode, details on what you can expect, and ultimately which one you should choose. 

Choosing Your Difficulty Setting In Jedi Fallen Order

Each affected game statistic is signified by a progress bar at the main menu. Highlighting each difficulty will show its intended value depending on which of the four modes is selected.

#1 - Story Mode

This is the mode of ultimate discovery and exploration. Find all of the game's secrets as you breeze through this mode.

As a whole, this game is set apart in that the difficulty settings do not influence enemy health. Rather, your parry timing, incoming damage, and enemy aggression are affected. With each consecutive difficulty, the stats change, and not necessarily in the gamers’ favor. As the game mode suggests, this selection focuses more on story and character development rather than combat mechanics. 

How it works:

  • The parry timing bar is full.
  • The incoming damage bar is at the lowest setting.
  • The enemy aggression bar is at the lowest setting.

You should choose this difficulty:

  • If you’re only interested in following Cal’s story and not concerned with complex battle components. 
  • If you want your enemies’ aggression like a Stormtrooper’s aim, lousy.
  • If you aren’t looking for a meaningful gaming experience.

#2 - Jedi Knight

An average mix of story and challenge. In this mode, you'll notice a change in the environment and the enemies you encounter.

With this mode, things have gotten a little tougher, and the enemies actually realize that Cal is a threat they should take seriously. This mode takes a bit more skill and focus. Eventually, you will realize that this mode still may not be for you, especially if you crave a challenge.

How it works:

  • The parry timing bar loses about a ⅓ of its progress.
  • Your incoming damage is about ¼ full. 
  • The enemy aggression is about ⅓ full.

You should choose this difficulty:

  • If you want a gaming experience that focuses equally on story and combat mechanics.
  • If you like deflecting blaster bolts and parrying attacks from groups of enemies. 
  • If the plot Cal’s story is slightly more interesting to you than expertly dispatching your many enemies.

#3 - Jedi Master

In this mode, you have to be ready to defend yourself. You'll want to practice fighting a bit or you might be spending a lot of time respawning.

In this mode, things are starting to get real. If you were an actual Jedi, your training and knowledge of the force would be more applicable in this mode. Here, the battles are paramount and each one determines how the next one will follow. If you’re used to playing similar action games then this mode is right up your alley. 

How it works:

  • The parry timing, incoming damage, and enemy aggression bar are all equal. 

You should choose this difficulty:

  • If you’re familiar with action games and have played similar titles. 
  • If as a Jedi warrior, you’d like to do more to your enemies than the standard “parry, slash, or stab” technique. 
  • If you enjoy concocting a strategy to take out groups of enemies that are now working together to take you down for the glory of the Empire.
  • If you want the best experience all around, for both the plot of the game and the combat mechanics Respawn Entertainment has coded in the game.

#4 - Jedi Grandmaster

Perhaps a better name for this mode is "Jedi God Mode." No? Sounds too lame?

This is it, Jedi Master, you’ve attained a title not many Jedi every truly receive, and for good reason. With this mode, you’d better be as agile as Yoda and as powerful as Rey when it comes to the connection to the Force. Both your reflexes and your patience will be tested here. 

How it works:

  • The parry timing bar is down to less than a ⅓ of a bar.
  • Your incoming damage bar has increased to 100%.
  • The enemy aggression is also at 100%. 

You should choose this difficulty:

  • If you enjoy punishment and frustration more than a calming gaming experience.
  • If you believe your reflexes are sharp and Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice was on easy mode as far as you’re concerned. 
  • If you like to use a mix of parrying, dodging, and well-timed attacks to win your battles.  

It’s important to note, that there are no Achievements for attempting higher difficulties and no penalties for changing difficulties at the beginning or even halfway through the game. If you find that a higher difficulty is too frustrating for you to enjoy yourself, then switch to the lower mode and have at it.  

STAR WARS: Jedi Fallen Order provides a well-rounded system for choosing an individual’s preferred experience. I recommend trying all four modes and if you’re aren’t interested in that, then start immediately on Jedi Master. While the Jedi Knight mode gives you an idea of what you’ll be facing in a fight, the most rewarding experience comes from a higher difficulty. After all, what are video games without a story and a challenge to overcome?

If this article made you feel like one with the Force or perhaps a bit “Force Sensitive” you might also enjoy these articles:

More on this topic:

Born with a controller in his hand, Josh was beating his father in Mario Kart before he could walk. He gets a stat boost from eating pizza and a 50% increase to stats during the night.
Gamer Since: 1989
Favorite Genre: RPG
Currently Playing: Apex Legends
Top 3 Favorite Games:Mass Effect 3, Witcher 3: Wild Hunt - Blood and Wine , Dragon Age: Inquisition

Latest Comments

1 Gamers Commented on this game. ADD YOURS.

You must login to post comments.
500 characters remaining

All Comments (1)

Nathanduril's picture

Nathanduril 2 years 10 months ago

Great job summarizing all the difficulties! I think you're right, that Jedi Knight is a good place to experience the best of both worlds, the gameplay and the story. I thought that Jedi Master was a fun challenge and I was considering doing a Grand Master run, but having done a certain enemy rush on a certain horrible asteroid, I'm not sure that I'll be making it through alive. XD

More Top Stories