New Titanfall 2 DLC "Operation Frontier Shield" Released

Bringing back popular game modes may be the only way to save Titanfall 2

Titanfall 2, First Released in Oct 2016, Receives its Seventh DLC

Operation Frontier Shield is the seventh DLC for the online shooter, Titanfall 2. The DLC is free and will be available for download on 25th of July for free on Xbox One, PC and Playstation 4. It seems that interest has stifled in this first person shooter, so as a way of counteracting this, Respawn Entertainment have gone for a number of changes.

The game mode itself allows you to team up with three friends in a survival style mode where you take on wave after wave of enemies. 

Frontier Defense, a new mode that comes with the DLC may sound familiar to fans of the original Titanfall as it too was a free release on the first game.

New Mode: Frontier Defense

  • Co-op 4 player mode
  • Davis and Droz of the Last Resort faction will be guiding you through the waves. They are unique to Frontier Defense mode and your earned merits will still apply to whatever MP Faction you have selected
  • Defend your Harvester against 5 waves of increasingly difficult enemies
  • The Titan you pick at the start is locked for the rest of the match
  • Earn cash for defeating enemies that you can spend in between waves to purchase tools at the Armory
  • Choose from Easy / Regular / Hard / Master difficulty
  • There will be an Insane difficulty as well that will exist in a separate tile as a Featured Mode
  • New Titan Progression - ‘Aegis Ranks’
  • Earn Aegis Ranks by completing matches of Frontier Defense. Aegis Ranks can unlock powerful upgrades for your Titans, helping you succeed at higher difficulty levels. For now these Ranks will only apply to Frontier Defense
  • 5 maps supported at launch

Frontier Defense is a horde-style mode, a team of four players must defend “The Harvester” from five waves of increasingly difficult enemies. This time around, Respawn Entertainment is promising some new enemy types to battle and destroy. This isn’t another needlessly tacked on game mode however and does provide some genuine use to the multiplayer scene as a whole. Your Aegis Rank will have progression, however upgrades on weapons and items are strictly for this game mode.

Five difficulties will be made available, with Easy, Regular, Hard, Master and Insane being available from the outset. To coincide with the five difficulties, five maps will also be available; Blackwater Canal, Rise, Homestead, War Games and Forwardbase Kodai. Respawn has stated they will be adding more maps at a later date, but for now these maps will do. That’s not to say everything is free though.

Respawn is also adding some premium related content, mostly in the form of warpaints for both weapons and titans. These will provide XP boosts, and the titan warpaints will be available for purchase on the 28th of August.

More on this topic:
After four long years of toiling away in the dark, slamming at my keyboard, I arrive at GamersDecide to continue flailing my arms at my already broken laptop.
Gamer Since: 1999
Favorite Genre: RPG
Currently Playing: The Walking Dead: Season Two
Top 3 Favorite Games:, ,
This article makes me feel: